MY OLD MAN AND THE SEA - David Hays, Daniel Hays

$4.796,00

24 cuotas de $538,83
Entregas para el CP:

Medios de envío

  • El Pulpo Negro Av. Uruguay 802, San Isidro Atención de lunes a viernes de 13 a 18 hs. Tel. 54 11 4742 0848
    Gratis
IMPORTANTE: Información sobre envíos
Ediciones El Pulpo Negro no se responsabiliza por el transporte de la mercadería adquirida por el comprador. Su obligación como vendedor se limita al despacho del pedido a la oficina de correos o transporte, o la entrega del pedido al personal del correo o transporte que viniera a retirarlo del local del Pulpo Negro. Si la mercadería fuera devuelta al remitente, el comprador podrá retirarla de nuestro local en los horarios de atención al público dentro de los 30 días corridos de su arribo, pasados los cuales no tendrá derecho a reclamarla. Si optara por solicitar nuevo envío, el nuevo franqueo y empaque o cualquier gasto extra ocasionado correrá por cuenta del comprador.

A father and son sail around Cape Horn

Some fathers and sons go fishing together. Some play baseball. David and Daniel Hays decided to sail a tiny boat 17,000 miles to the bottom of the world and back. This is their story.

David is romantic, excitable, and reflective; Daniel is wry, comic, and down-to-earth. Together their alternating voices weave a story of travel, of adventure, and of difficult, dangerous blue-water sailing. The Caribbean, the Panama Canal, the Galapagos Islands, Easter Island, Cape Horn, the Falklands - these far-flung places spring vividly to life in My Old Man and the Sea.

Father and son don't always get along, though. Daniel has been an uneasy and uneven student. Now, just out of college, he's unsure what to do next. He sees his father growing older, slower, more forgetful. David is haunted by memories of his own father, of the things they never said to each other, and the fear that he'll make the same mistakes with his son. But he gets angry when Daniel treats him like an old man.

On this voyage, the son will become the captain, and the father will relinquish control. Before long they are at sea, headed for the huge waves and unceasing wind of the Southern Ocean with only their skill as sailors, a compass, a sextant, a ship's cat, and Sparrow, the 25-foot boat they've built together.

Lovers of sailing and travel books will find this often hilarious, often moving tale of voyage and self-discovery to be in the tradition of Farley Mowat's The Boat Who Wouldn't Float, Bruce Chatwin's In Patagonia, and Paul Theroux's The Happy Isles of Oceania. But more than that, it's the story of a father and son who go down to the sea to find each other, and of what they bring back.

Enviamos tu compra

Entregas a todo el país

Pagá como quieras

Tarjetas de crédito o efectivo

Comprá con seguridad

Tus datos siempre protegidos